TONY EVERS, Governor

MATT JOSKI, Chairperson Interoperability Council

## **WISCOM Subcommittee Meeting**

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 10, 2021 12:30 P.M.

## WEB/TELECONFERENCE ONLY

## **MEETING MINUTES**

- 1. Meeting Convened at 12:36 p.m.
- 2. Quorum was established with 15/18 members present. Present via teleconference: Joseph Baasch, Steven Fenske, David Gribble, Tim Halbach, Keith Hurlburt, Keith Kesler, Christopher Lehner, Jennifer Lord, Gary McClelland, Marshall Ogren, Timothy Slater, Tyler Tuttle, Jan Victorson, Dan Weber, and Logan Zinsli.

Members absent: Darren Chappuies, Paul Eaton, and Kirk Gunderson.

- 3. Meeting Minutes
  - A. Review and Approval of the January 27, 2021 Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve meeting minutes by Slater. Seconded by Fenske. Unanimous approval.

- 4. Public Comment There was no public comment.
- 5. Review the Updates to the Subcommittee Bylaws
  - A. General discussion of updates that were made to the Subcommittee Bylaws.
    - 1) Discussion related to concerns about updated missions, responsibilities, and authority of the Subcommittee.
    - The Subcommittee was reminded that members are welcome to present concerns and/or omissions to the Interoperability Council for review and consideration for the next version of the Bylaws.
- 6. Membership Updates
  - A. Annual Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Lord nominated Kesler for the position of Chair of the WISCOM Subcommittee. With no other nominees, Kesler declared that Keith Kesler won the position of Chair of the Subcommittee by acclamation.

Fenske nominated Gribble for the position of Vice Chair of the WISCOM Subcommittee. With no other nominees, Kesler declared that David Gribble won the position of Vice Chair of the Subcommittee by acclamation.

- 7. Review the 2019 Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services Communication Plan to Assist Department of Health Services Staff to Identify Inaccuracies
  - A. Kesler led a discussion related to the use of regional HSEMS Talkgroups instead of statewide HSEMS 1-5 Talkgroups due to concerns with the level of traffic on the talkgroups.

- 1) Jim Westover of the LMR Subcommittee shared that Fireground GRAY/8TACGRAY has been designated as the primary channel and Fireground BLACK/8TACBLACK as the secondary channel for LZ coordination, with adoption to occur no sooner than September 23, 2021, and no later than September 23, 2025.
- B. Victorson shared concerns related to Appendix B of the Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services Communication Plan, as it currently indicates that several VHF mutual aid channels have receive tones. Westover indicated that he is reviewing Appendix B and making appropriate updates.
- 8. Upcoming Conferences and Events This topic was tabled due to a lack of time.
- 9. The next regularly scheduled meeting will be May 26, 2021.
- 10. Meeting adjourned at 2:23p.m.

Motion to adjourn the meeting made by Fenske. Seconded by Ogren. Unanimous approval.

Respectfully submitted, Meredith Hauge DMA/OEC